

Jan Kluyver prize

National Institute for Subatomic Physics (Nikhef)

Foundation

The Jan Kluyver prize was established in 2010 by the Education Committee (OWC) of the Research School Subatomic Physics (OSAF). Each year, the prize is awarded to the best English summary of a Nikhef thesis.

Background

Without Jan Kluyver's dedication, the Nikhef collaboration agreement in 1975 would never have come about. This prize carries the name Jan Kluyver, because Nikhef's most important output are beyond doubt our PhD students, some of whom will determine Nikhef's future research.

Prize

The Jan Kluyver prize consists of a gadget that is related to Nikhef research and €2,500 that can be spent freely.

Candidates

Only Nikhef-related completed PhD projects of the previous calendar year (i.e. mentioned in the Nikhef annual report) are eligible for the Jan Kluyver prize. A nomination is not required.

Jurv

The jury is comprised of former Nikhef directors and is appointed by the OWC of the OSAF following a proposal by the current Nikhef director, who is himself ex-officio member of the jury. The head of the Nikhef personnel department is secretary.

Assessment

The English summary is judged on:

1. clarity of the summary text.

The following aspects will also be involved in the assessment:

- 2. scientific quality of the underlying research; and the
- 3. originality of the research method.

In case of a conflict of interest, where necessary, the relevant jury member(s) will abstain from voting. This to be decided by the secretary.

Timings

The name of the prize winner will be announced each year at the scientific annual meeting in December by the Nikhef director and will be mentioned in the Nikhef annual report. The details of the award ceremony will be determined annually.

Contact person

Pieter van Braam van Vloten: Telephone: +31-(0)205925077.

version IV/12 October 2012